Bent-over-Row

Details

  • Shot wide open at f/1.8 to cover up distractions in the background.
  • Converted to black & white to further eliminate background and distracting colours.
  • Nikon SB-600 speedlight equipped with wireless receiver and 110 cm circular diffuser  in front of subject.

My note:

  • I took this shot in shutter priority and set the shutter speed to 1/200th of a second to minimize motion blur. I also set the ISO to a low 250 to force the camera to shoot at the widest aperture available. 

So i’m just about back, behind the controls in my blogging cockpit which means I’ll be posting more frequently now school’s out!

Here’s the first of a new blog series, Photo of the Week where I am going to go into detail about how I captured the image.

I got bought a Nikon 85mm 1.8D for coverage of the upcoming JUNO awards and I decided to give it a test run before the big day.

I also got a Neewer 110cm 5-in-1 reflector and 2 Cowboy Studios wireless radio receivers and 1 trigger which I using to experiment with strobing. The wireless receivers and trigger were only $30 bucks and so far have been worth it. Their build is of a cheap plastic material but they work with my SB-600 and 700 speedlights and that is what I needed.

Other than the cheap plastic I also found that the shutter on the camera would have to be released twice (the 1st to wake the speed light and the 2nd to trigger it) which can result in missing key shots. A work-around is to press the test button on the trigger once to wake the speed lights and then you continue to take photos.

 

Leave a Reply

